Lord of Chance by Erica Ridley

Lord of Chance ebook by Erica RidleyI have read several of Miss Ridley’s books. She writes in a no-nonsense, straightforward style that makes reading a joy.

In “Lord of Chance” Tony is a wonderful hero. He is flawed, and in a terrible bind. I have to admit that, right to the end, I was unsure how he was going to get out of his predicament. I didn’t see it coming, but the solution was satisfying, and perfect. I felt his gambling addiction was well portrayed and believable. I ached for him in his struggle.

Charlotte was very real, too, although her character did not linger as his did. That may be a sign of my personal preferences. She certainly knew what she wanted and she went after it. Defeat did not faze her much. She was a fully paid up member of the Try-Again brigade.

One thing did jar, though. Once they found themselves accidentally married, the pair looked for ways to escape it and Tony said he would not contest any grounds she put up for divorcing him. However, in English law, a woman could not divorce her husband, under any circumstances, until 1937. So Tony would have had to divorce her, provided he could afford it (doubtful). The process would have ruined her, and so would have been the absolute opposite of what she wanted.

In Scotland, a woman could divorce her husband at the time of the book, but since the pair did not know the laws governing marriage in Scotland, I found it hard to believe they would know Scottish divorce laws.

Still, for the most part, I was able to ignore this and just go where the story led. On that journey, I laughed, cried, willed the characters forwards, and tried to hold them back.

I look forward to the next book.

About Caitlyn Callery

I have been a writer all my life. As well as Regency Romances, which I write as Caitlyn Callery, I also write stage plays, sketches and screenplays under the name Hilary Mackelden. I also have a weekly column in the Kent and Sussex Courier, and do publicity and PR for the charity, World In Need. I live in Sussex and love, (in alphabetical order) Ashdown Forest, my family, Jesus, reading and the sea.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

