Rescued by the Warriner

A Warriner To Rescue Her (Mills & Boon Historical) (The Wild Warriners, Book 2) by [Heath, Virginia]The second Warriner book stayed with me longer than the first did. I really wanted it to go on so I could find out what happened next.

We meet Cassie, our heroine, when she’s behaving in a totally inappropriate manner – climbing a tree – but it’s written in such a way that I completely believed this young lady would act like this. I laughed out loud at their meeting, and the way he suffered for it.

In fact, there were quite a few laugh out loud moments, and some lump-in-throat ones, too. There was even a passage or two when the tension made me read noticeably faster, as I anticipated the pair getting caught out.

(The rest of this review might be seen as a spoiler, so be warned before you read on.)

I loved the way Jamie put a supercilious clergyman in his place. It reminded me of my father, and the way he would not tolerate lack of respect. As a Christian, I was, of course, dismayed to see a clergyman behaving in such an un-Christian way in literature (again! Outside overtly Christian books, they are often portrayed as mad, bad or dangerous. It would be nice to have a few “normal” Christians to redress the balance. We’re not all psychopaths.) However, I am realistic enough to know there are believers just like him, in fact, I’ve met them, and the over-pious Reverend came across as a very real person.

My biggest bugbear with this book is, we have to wait so long to hear about the other Warriner brothers. More please.

About Caitlyn Callery

I have been a writer all my life. As well as Regency Romances, which I write as Caitlyn Callery, I also write stage plays, sketches and screenplays under the name Hilary Mackelden. I also have a weekly column in the Kent and Sussex Courier, and do publicity and PR for the charity, World In Need. I live in Sussex and love, (in alphabetical order) Ashdown Forest, my family, Jesus, reading and the sea.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

