Cavanaugh on call

Cavanaugh on callI don’t read the blurb when I see Marie Ferrarella’s name on the cover of a Mills and Boon book. I know I’m going to get a good story, with a satisfying hero and heroine at its heart. They’ll fall in love in a way that seems natural and unbelievable, with nothing contrived. They’ll also be involved in an interesting plot with twists and turns, suspects and red herrings, and reading it will be a great way to spend an evening or two.

When it’s one of her Cavanaugh books, so much the better. We’ll get a continuity with characters we’ve met before, in a place we’ve become familiar with. There’ll be a good, old-fashioned feel-good family at the centre of everything, a family which somehow restores my faith in human nature, just as it heals the main characters.

A family like the Waltons, with crime. And, of course, Uncle Andrew’s get-togethers. From page one, I eagerly anticipate the party that will bring the outsider in from the cold and show them what they’re missing.

Cavanaugh on Call, the latest in the series, did not disappoint. We have a heroine who, for understandable, if mistaken, reasons, is wary of getting too close to anyone else, who has secrets and trust issues which need to be addressed before she can become whole. And we have a Cavanaugh who can help her on her journey, if she’ll just let him.

Bryce Cavanaugh is a good man, but not unbelievably so, and he is a perfect fit for our heroine.

What I like about Ms Ferrarella is that, even after 200 books, each story has an individuality. Yes, some elements appear in each (Uncle Andrew’s party, for instance), but even they are never quite the same each time. Each character is well rounded and fun to get to know. In fact, my only real complaint about the Cavanaugh books is, they don’t come frequently enough.

Marie ferrarella

Marie Ferrarella

In this one, there were a few editing mistakes – typos mainly, and the odd confusion about a name or detail which could have been weeded out with a little more care, but they didn’t distract me for long, and they didn’t spoil my enjoyment of the whole.

Which leaves me just one more thing to say to Ms Ferrarella: more Cavanaugh, please.

About Caitlyn Callery

I have been a writer all my life. As well as Regency Romances, which I write as Caitlyn Callery, I also write stage plays, sketches and screenplays under the name Hilary Mackelden. I also have a weekly column in the Kent and Sussex Courier, and do publicity and PR for the charity, World In Need. I live in Sussex and love, (in alphabetical order) Ashdown Forest, my family, Jesus, reading and the sea.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

