Song lyrics: Getting the creative juices flowing again

stethoscopeA bout of ill health knocked me off track recently. I had no energy, and couldn’t write for some time.

When I recovered, it wasn’t easy to just get back on the horse and gallop. Like any muscle in our bodies, the creative muscle needs regular exercise to keep it toned, and a few weeks off left mine weak and pathetic.

Before I got sidetracked, I’d been writing the fourth novel in the Hadlow series of Regency Romances. “Friend or Foe” was going wINCOGNITOell and I was about halfway through. But writing a novel is more of a marathon than a sprint, and when I got back to my desk, I just didn’t have it in me to go the distance. I had to build up to it.

So, I started with small pieces of writing: song lyrics. Note I said small pieces, not easy pieces. There is nothing easy about writing song lyrics. They have to speak to the audience just as much as the short story, the novel, the play. They have to conjure up images, tell – or at least suggest – a story in the mind of the listener. On top of which, they have to scan, possibly rhyme, be easy to say or sing, and appealing.

A tall order.

writingI started trying to write lyrics every morning. Some were worth keeping, many more were not, but that wasn’t really what mattered in the end. What mattered was, I was writing, thinking, creating. And as time went by, I started writing more. After the day’s lyrics, I went on to write other things, including more to the novel. And pretty soon, I was back in the swing, and writing as much as ever I did before.

I’d recommend it to anyone who finds themselves stuck.

Meanwhile, here’s an example of one of the songs I wrote. There’s no tune, since I don’t write music, but I hope you enjoy it anyway. And if your particular creative talents are musical, feel free to try putting a tune to it. I’d be interested to hear what you come up with.

You’re dangerous

I learned early, the golden rule                                                                                                      How to survive and never taken for a fool                                                                                Wrapped my heart in cotton wool ‘cause life can be so cruel.                                                       It can be cruel.

Tread through life softly, timid and shy,                                                                                      Keep my head down safely as the world marches by                                                            Scared to spread my wings because I might fall if I fly,                                                              So never fly.

Loving is hurtful, so let it go,                                                                                                               If I don’t love I can’t lose, won’t crash if I go slow,                                                                      But this philosophy of mine was dealt a mortal blow                                                            When I met you.

You’re dangerous. Really dangerous.

You’ve got me living on the edge                                                                                          Jumping off the ledge                                                                                                                  Never even looking to see where I might land                                                                      You’ve got me chancing all I’ve got                                                                                    Throwing in my lot                                                                                                                  Gambling everything I have on one final hand.

 Oh, yes, you’re dangerous, you are really dangerous.

 I give you my love, my life, and all that’s in it,                                                                            It’s dangerous, you’re dangerous,                                                                                                  And I’m loving every minute.

Always so careful, used to be me,                                                                                               Double checking everything, no spontaneity,                                                                       Trapped in my cage of safety, but now I’ve been set free,                                                          You set me free.

Oh yes, you’re dangerous. You are really dangerous.

 You’ve got me living on the edge                                                                                          Jumping off the ledge                                                                                                                    Never even looking to see where I might land                                                                          You’ve got me chancing all I’ve got                                                                                    Throwing in my lot                                                                                                                  Gambling everything I have on one final hand.

You’ve got me running to the fight                                                                                                 You make it seem so right                                                                                                            Never flinching, strong and proud, making my last stand. 

Oh, yes, you’re dangerous, you are really dangerous.

 I give you my love, my life, and all that’s in it,                                                                            It’s dangerous, you’re dangerous,                                                                                                And I’m loving every minute.

It’s dangerous, you’re really dangerous,                                                                                       And I’m loving every minute.

About Caitlyn Callery

I have been a writer all my life. As well as Regency Romances, which I write as Caitlyn Callery, I also write stage plays, sketches and screenplays under the name Hilary Mackelden. I also have a weekly column in the Kent and Sussex Courier, and do publicity and PR for the charity, World In Need. I live in Sussex and love, (in alphabetical order) Ashdown Forest, my family, Jesus, reading and the sea.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

