Wells built on scarves

I recently purchased a scarf from the Obakki Foundation. It was reasonably priced and arrived within a few days of my ordering it. When it arrived it was soft and well made, easy to care for, and the colour went with just about everything I ever wear. I have a feeling it will be an invaluable part of my wardrobe for the foreseeable future.

But the really wonderful thing about the scarf is, it is helping to build a well in South Sudan.

water carrying childIn South Sudan, water is a precious and all too rare commodity. Not every community has easy access to it and it is not unusual for families to have to trek 6 kilometres and more, just to get enough water for the basic needs of the day. Having walked that far, they fill up a jerry can with about 20 litres then hike all the way home again.

Have you ever tried carrying 20 litres of water?

All too often, the task is given to women and children, especially girls. As well as walking, lugging the heavy water, they face danger – men who will rob them, or worse. And even if they make the journey safely it will take up much of the day when the children could be in school, getting the education that will give them their passport to a brighter future.

The Obakki Foundation works to provide communities with their own wells so that the people don’t have so far to go, and so that the water they have access to is clean and fit for human use. Sales of the scarves fund the work, with 100% of the net proceeds going towards the well-building, and it takes 500 scarves to dig a well.

If you’d like to know more about the Obakki Foundation and their work in South Sudan, visit their website here

Meanwhile, I thought I’d share a picture of me wearing my scarf. It wObakki scarf aas taken in the part of Ashdown Forest that provided the setting for AA Milne’s Winnie-the-Pooh stories. It’s a place where I can sit safely and where water is abundant. I am blessed to live here. If only everyone could say the same.

About Caitlyn Callery

I have been a writer all my life. As well as Regency Romances, which I write as Caitlyn Callery, I also write stage plays, sketches and screenplays under the name Hilary Mackelden. I also have a weekly column in the Kent and Sussex Courier, and do publicity and PR for the charity, World In Need. I live in Sussex and love, (in alphabetical order) Ashdown Forest, my family, Jesus, reading and the sea.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

