Reflections

writingSo, here we are. The presents are unwrapped, the turkey cooked, the excitement over for another year. Now comes that lull between Christmas and New Year when we look back over the last twelve months, and forward to the next twelve.

This year’s been a bit of a roller coaster for me and mine. There have been moments I never wish to repeat – seeing my grandson in intensive care after a freak accident on his bike, the extremely painful but ultimately unsuccessful surgical procedure on my back, the death of a close friend.

But there have been wonderful moments, too:

Said grandson’s complete recovery.bankrupt viscount 3

The publication of my novel, “The Bankrupt Viscount” and the news that it’s a finalist in the EPIC e-book awards for 2015, as well as being in the running for the Ruth Hessayon Award.

Being told that book two in the Hadlow series, “Incognito” will be published shortly, as will my dark short story, “Feeding the Pigs”.

On the whole, I’d say it’s been a good year. Now, on to 2015.

The big event for me next year will be my youngest son’s wedding to a wonderful woman I will be proud to call daughter-in-law. I’m looking forward to the wedding but at the same time, there are the photos… they do give an added impetus to my resolution to lose weight. If only it was as easy to do it as to say it.

father forgive image 2There are other things to look forward to. In April, one of my plays, “Father, Forgive” will be staged at All Saints Church in Crowborough, and I’m well into the writing of the third Hadlow novel. The characters are alive now, and pester me constantly to get on with their story. I have to, really, since the people involved in book four are already champing at the bit, too.

Ah, the work of a writer. Tis never, ever done.

Whatever your plans for 2015, I wish you well. May 2015 be the best year of your life so far.

Happy New Year.

About Caitlyn Callery

I have been a writer all my life. As well as Regency Romances, which I write as Caitlyn Callery, I also write stage plays, sketches and screenplays under the name Hilary Mackelden. I also have a weekly column in the Kent and Sussex Courier, and do publicity and PR for the charity, World In Need. I live in Sussex and love, (in alphabetical order) Ashdown Forest, my family, Jesus, reading and the sea.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Reflections

  1. bethovermyer says:

    Happy New Year, Hil! Sounds like you’ve got a lot of wonderful things to look forward to 🙂 I hope your new year is truly blessed. Take care, stay warm, and keep writing (I really enjoyed TBV, btw.)

Leave a Reply

