Ghostly Clues

kayOne of the things I love is getting to know fellow writers and hearing about them, their writing and their books. Today, I’ve been talking to Kay Lalone, a fellow Museitup author. 

Kay, tell us a little about yourself.

Hi. I’m Kay Lalone, and I live in Michigan with my husband and teenage son (two older sons and a daughter-in-law live nearby) and two dogs and a cat. I love to get up every morning and write about ghosts, the paranormal, and things that go bump in the night. 

I write PB, MG and YA novels. No matter the books I write, I want my readers to feel like they have met a new friend. I’m an avid reader of just about any type of book (mystery, paranormal, and ghost stories are my favorite). I do reviews and post them on my website and blog. I love to collect old books, antiques, and collectibles. You can find many of my antiques and collectibles selling on ebay and at fleamarkets.

Ghostly Clues is my first middle grade novel published by MuseItUp.

Ghostly CluesTell us about your book and how the story came to be.

Ghostly Clues was inspired by a childhood memory. My Grandma Tufts died when I was about Sarah Kay’s age, the main character in Ghostly Clues, and I remember seeing a ghost hand one night shortly after my grandma’s passing. This memory has haunted me so I have used it in this book. 

 Do you have a method for creating your characters and their names and what do you think makes them believable?

Usually my characters will talk to me in my head and kind of tell me their story. So in the beginning I free write, typing their story as fast as I can. Then later I do a character sketch to flesh them out more.

 Do your characters follow your plot path or do they take on a life of their own? Do you keep them in check?

My characters have a life of their own. They like to run the show. Most of the time I let them. It’s their story I’m writing.

Have you ever suffered from writer’s block? If so, how did you overcome it?

Yes, I suffer from writer’s block. Usually I’ll go for a walk, it usually clears my mind. Sometimes working on a different project helps.

And what’s the best piece of writing advice you’ve received?

Read, read, read, and write, write, write.

I understand your book is on special offer for a few days?

Yes, it is. Ghostly Clues is on sale for $1.99 Sept 1 -14. After that, it goes back up to full price.

So, can you give us an idea about what the book is about? 

Of course. 

The sweet scent of lilacs permeates the air around Grandma’s gravesite. Only Sarah Kay can smell Grandma’s favorite flower, and they’re not even in bloom. 

Sarah Kay and her best friend, Mary Jane, believe the lilacs are a sign from Grandma’s ghost. The girls follow one ghostly clue after another, uncovering a secret that Mom never wanted Sarah Kay to know.

Grandma makes sure Sarah Kay gets the message even from the grave.

Sounds intriguing. Could we have a little taste?

The house was blanketed in a quiet slumber. I snuggled under the sleeping bag with Allison, trying not to think about ghosts, as I drifted to sleep.

Random pictures floated in my mind like ghostly images.

I tiptoed among tombstones and my heart ached as if I had lost something or someone. He had to be here, somewhere. The gravestones rose like stone walls. No names engraved on them. No dates. No R.I.P. Nothing. Just smooth, flat stones. Ghosts—grayish, smoky forms with black eyes—floated over the tombstones.  I shivered, suddenly cold, freezing. My breath visible like a little ghost. I didn’t want to look at the ghost anymore so I looked down at my feet. A tombstone with Grandma’s name appeared out of nowhere. The earth moved. The dirt around the headstone broke away and gnarled fingers clawed their way into the air, searching, grasping. Shriveled fingers clutched my leg. 

Something grabbed at my leg—the hand, I screamed and frantically wiggled out of my sleeping bag, bumping MJ as I tried to get away from the hand I thought I felt grab at my leg. 

Where can readers find you and your book?

MuseItUp http://museituppublishing.com/bookstore/index.php/museityoung/ghostly-clues-detail

Amazon http://www.amazon.com/Ghostly-Clues-ebook/dp/B00AFGJRLM/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1365020103&sr=8-1&keywords=ghostly+clues

Website:  www.kaylalone.weebly.com

Blog: www.kaylalone.blogspot.com

Facebook: www.facebook.com/#!/ghostlyclues

What’s next for your writing? Are you working on a new story?

I am always working on a new story. In the spring/summer of 2015 I will have a new book out called Family Secret.

 

About Caitlyn Callery

I have been a writer all my life. As well as Regency Romances, which I write as Caitlyn Callery, I also write stage plays, sketches and screenplays under the name Hilary Mackelden. I also have a weekly column in the Kent and Sussex Courier, and do publicity and PR for the charity, World In Need. I live in Sussex and love, (in alphabetical order) Ashdown Forest, my family, Jesus, reading and the sea.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Ghostly Clues

  1. Kay LaLone says:

    thank you, for hosting me on your blog today.

  2. Lanise Brown says:

    Ghostly Clues looks like an interesting read, and good luck with the upcoming book, Kay! And, thanks, Caitlyn. I enjoyed reading the interview. 🙂

Leave a Reply

