R & R (Reading and Relaxing)

After a hard day slaving over a hot laptop, I love to wind down by reading. I suppose, to some people, hearing a writer say they relax by reading is akin to a bus driver looking forward to a coaching holiday but the truth is, immersing myself in other people’s books is relaxing, enjoyable and something I look forward to very much.

It also helps me in my own writing, not because I am stealing other people’s ideas and phrases – I’m not – but because, by taking me out of the world of my own stories, other writers help my brain to recharge and reconnect, and this often seems to shake loose other ideas, solutions to problems, escape routes from the dead-ended alleys I’ve wandered into, and it enables me to move forward the next time I set to work.

So what have I been reading of late?

ImageWell, there’s Marguerite Kaye. Her novella, http://www.margueritekaye.com/bookshelf-2/the-couple-in-the-dream-suite was a very satisfying snack, short but brim full of wonderful. Set in 1921, it deals with a couple who have survived the Great War and are now struggling in the aftermath. It captures beautifully the angst, the soul-searching, the survivor’s guilt, as well as the heady decadence oImagef the twenties and the partying generation who laughed too loud and smiled too brightly.

It’s a pity the rest of the Chatsfield mini-series wasn’t set in the same era. The other stories might have been more interesting if they had been.

Marguerite’s newest book, http://www.margueritekaye.com/bookshelf-2/never-forget-me is on my To Be Read pile.

ImageAnother book I’ve enjoyed lately is Dana Marton’s https://danamarton.com/books/broslin-bride/ The latest in a series about the law enforcement officers in Broslin Creek, this story is just as action packed as the previous four but it has a lighter tone than they do. The heroine is feisty, with a dry sense of humour and a great line in self-deprecation, and the hero is her perfect match. I look forward to the next.

Last night, I read Rhonda Gibson’s latest, http://rhondasbooks.blogspot.co.uk. I like Ms Gibson’s

Image

books because they are sweet without being cloying, they put God at the centre of the characters’ lives without being sanctimonious and they manage (where, alas, so many “Christian” novels fail) to hold the interest with a decent story. Whether you are a Christian or not, if you like sweet romance, you’ll probably enjoy this.

For now though, it’s time for me to stop visiting other people’s worlds and get back to mine. My latest hero, Luke, has just realised my heroine, Grace, may be in danger, and he needs to get there, but he can’t without me. Even now, he is tapping his foot impatiently at me, telling me to hurry up…

About Caitlyn Callery

I have been a writer all my life. As well as Regency Romances, which I write as Caitlyn Callery, I also write stage plays, sketches and screenplays under the name Hilary Mackelden. I also have a weekly column in the Kent and Sussex Courier, and do publicity and PR for the charity, World In Need. I live in Sussex and love, (in alphabetical order) Ashdown Forest, my family, Jesus, reading and the sea.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

