It’s not as easy as it looks!

cartoon-flushed-and-tired-female-marathon-runner-drinking-water-by-ron-leishman-1605This week, I feel as if I have run a marathon on a treadmill. I’ve put the effort in, I’ve done everything that was asked of me, and I have got precisely nowhere, fast.

It took a while to figure out what the problem was, but I think I know now. I was trying to do too much. More specifically, trying to do too many different things. When I looked, I was amazed at what I expected my brain to cope with. I wouldn’t have expected it of anyone else, so why push myself? There’s having a good work ethic, and there’s working yourself to a frazzle, and guess which line I crossed?

So what have I been trying to do?

Firstly, there is the second novel in my Regency romance series. “Incognito” follows on immediately from the end of “The Bankrupt Viscount”, which is released by Museitup Publishing in May 2014. In some ways, it is easier because I’ve already had the first book accepted. In some ways, this one is harder to write, because I’ve already had the first book accepted. But as I get to know Grace and Josh, I find myself enjoying my time in their company and longing to bring their story to life.

At the same time, however, I was trying to write things for the charity, World In need (http://www.worldinneed.co.uk/)

Forty seven articles (forty days plus seven Sundays in Lent) isn’t too onerous, since they are all about the work the charity is doing, and that’s something I am passionate about. However, they are time consuming to write, and on top of that, finding forty seven relevant Bible passages made my eyes cross. I love my Bible, but it IS a big book and finding just the right passages is quite a task. Then, for some of the days, I also needed to write poems and song lyrics, find music, photos, videos, people willing to record things, etc., etc., etc… I think agreeing to do this proves I am certifiable.

Then there’s my Courier newspaper articles. Because I am awaiting a hospital procedure on my spine, I’m trying to get ahead of myself. Fine, but writing several weeks newspaper columns took time, energy and a certain amount of pulling my hair out.

Add to this the jumper I promised I would knit for my son, the baby cowboy boots I’ve crocheted because that’s a skill I wanted to learn, my to-be-read pile of books and especially the excellent “Spiral of Hooves” by Roland Clarke, (http://www.amazon.co.uk/Spiral-Hooves-Roland-Clark-ebook/dp/B00H7H7K8Y) and “Rumors that ruined a lady” by Marguerite Kaye, (http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/17900194-rumours-that-ruined-a-lady), and every day living, and you can see why finding time to breathe has been a challenge.

I’m that much closer to goal than I was last week. If only I felt like that was really true!

Hilary 2012I write plays and screenplays as Hilary Mackelden, and novels as Caitlyn Callery. Many of my stage plays are published by Lazy Bee Scripts and by Eldridge Plays and Musicals. You can find out more about them at http://www.hilarymackelden.com.

My play “Sammy” won a UK National play writing award in 2004, while “Price of Firewood” was commended in the Verity Bargate award in 2007 and two plays, “Volunteers” and “This Way” have been shortlisted in the Amateur Stage Play awards, which will be judged in 2014.

As well as writing plays and novels, I write a newspaper column each week and have been nominated for “Regional Newspaper columnist of the year” in 2011, 2012 and 2013.

I am excited to announce my first Regency Romance, “The Bankrupt Viscount” is to be published by Museitup Publishing in May 2014. It will be available in all e-book formats.

About Caitlyn Callery

I have been a writer all my life. As well as Regency Romances, which I write as Caitlyn Callery, I also write stage plays, sketches and screenplays under the name Hilary Mackelden. I also have a weekly column in the Kent and Sussex Courier, and do publicity and PR for the charity, World In Need. I live in Sussex and love, (in alphabetical order) Ashdown Forest, my family, Jesus, reading and the sea.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

